D&D Adventure #2: Green Shell Suit

For games played by men (and women) with beards, such as tabletop RPGs.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

1d20 + Dex modifier for a ranged attack.
1d6 for acid damage to your target.

If you miss on your attack, you can roll a 1d8 to determine which way you fluffed it.
Details on thrown splash weapons are on page 158 of the player's handbook.
Baliame
Tremors Worm
Tremors Worm
Posts: 3491
Joined: October 13th, 2007, 23:43
Location: Hungary

Post by Baliame »

Attack:
Roll(1d20)-2:
17,-2
Total:15
(Pfft, I was sure I was gonna fail that so hard I'd make it land in some teammate's face)

Damage:
Roll(1d6)+0:
4,+0
Total:4

(In case I missed)
Roll(1d8)+0:
5,+0
Total:5
Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

Wow, you <i>just</i> hit him.

The flask goes toppling through the air and smashes into the Goblin's chest. He ignores it for a moment, before his leather armour begins to fall away in bubbling chunks of melting hide, and his chest follows suit - innards grotesquely sliding from his ribcage as the powerful acid eats through his body. He falls over in a whining heap.

---

The Gobbo' next to him takes a point of damage too, but advances on Thor and whacks him with his spiked mace for 3 damage.

The two goblins holding javelins line up at a distance and toss their weapons at the Ranger and Wizard. One misses its target, and the other careens in to Thoroar's cloth 'armour' with a squelch, doing 4 points of damage.

Glibberig goes, next.
Roman Totale
Robotic Bumlord
Robotic Bumlord
Posts: 8475
Joined: October 24th, 2004, 0:27
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by Roman Totale »

I shall go for the gobbo that is whacking (off) Thor

1d20 + 2, +1 from Size, +1 from racial vs gobbos

14,+4 = 18


1d6 = 5 damage
Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

Unfortunately you're shooting into a melee battle (page 140) which gives a -4 to your roll.
The idea is that you're having to aim not to hit your buddy, in this case Thor.

And thus, you miss.

Forenrond's up.
shot2bits
Zombie
Zombie
Posts: 2082
Joined: February 7th, 2005, 17:40
Location: england

Post by shot2bits »

ill step out (if i cant already see it) and lob one of my magic stones at the goblin Glibberig just missed


Roll(1d20)+-2:
18,+-2
Total:16

if that hits

Roll(1d6)+1:
5,+1
Total:6
Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

Okay, but you'll have to wait your turn :p
shot2bits
Zombie
Zombie
Posts: 2082
Joined: February 7th, 2005, 17:40
Location: england

Post by shot2bits »

:oops:

not sure how i misread that....i need to smoke less
Dog Pants
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
Posts: 21653
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 13:39
Location: Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by Dog Pants »

I guess I won'tbe ambushing after all. I'll draw my rapier/dagger combo and look for a straggler to pick off. No way I'm mixing it in the front line though. I'm confused as to who is where now.
Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

A little something like this.

Image

Note to self, make corridors less narrow next time.
Dog Pants
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
Posts: 21653
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 13:39
Location: Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by Dog Pants »

Doesn't look like there's a lot I can do. Is there room for me to stab Thor's goblin? I might just hide in that room and wait for the party to fall back.
Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

Yeah, you can shuffle around and drop your sword into his face.
Dog Pants
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
Posts: 21653
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 13:39
Location: Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by Dog Pants »

I'll give him a stab then and fall back as soon as I can afterwards...

Roll(1d20)+0:
7,+0
Total:7

Or not. I'll just stick with the single attack because I don't have my character sheet so don't know what the modifiers are.
Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

Alas, you miss - swiping your sword against the Goblin's shield.
You have to be right up against a target (or shift one 'square' towards them) at the start of your round to use both weapons any way, as using them together is a 'full round action'.

Mini rules, mini rules, you hate mini rules. :)

FJ, your turn!
Dog Pants
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
Posts: 21653
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 13:39
Location: Surrey, UK
Contact:

Post by Dog Pants »

I can live with that particular rule because it makes sense - you need more time to swing both weapons. It's the unrealistic miniature rules I hate - the whole point of a PPRPG is freedom, putting restrictive miniature rules on it defeats the point.
FatherJack
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 9597
Joined: May 16th, 2005, 15:31
Location: Coventry, UK
Contact:

Post by FatherJack »

I've been reading up on two-weapon (not two-handed weapon) fighting as it applies to me too, as I understand it:

- A two weapon attack is a full-round action, so can't be used in the same turn a move action.
- You suffer a (possibly quite heavy) penalty on both weapon's attack rolls, see table 8-10 on page 161.
- Drawing a weapon counts as a move action, unless you have at least a +1 base attack bonus when it can be combined with a move action. It's never a free action on its own.
- Drawing two weapons takes two move actions unless you have the Two-Weapon feat. Without the feat it basically takes you a whole round just to draw your weapons.
- Sheathing a weapon is a move action and opens you up to an attack of opportunity.
- Dropping a weapon is a free action, but picking it up again works like sheathe.

The penalties when doing them is fair enough, after all you get two attacks, it's the fact that it's quite difficult to get into a position where you actually do use them.
If you have to draw your weapons, or you have to move, you use up a move action, so can only attack with one weapon, presumably you don't suffer the penalty as you're not trying to use them both at once.
The only time you would get to use both weapons is when something moves next to you, or if you drew them in a previous round for later use.


Anyway, back to Thor.

I drop my bow (free action)
I draw my rapier (free action as part of a move/move action)
Attempt to stab goblin

Attack:
Roll(1d20)+2:
15,+2
Total:17

Damage:
Roll(1d6)+1:
6,+1
Total:7

:likesitall:
Grimmie
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Master of Soviet Propaganda
Posts: 7672
Joined: February 5th, 2005, 19:00
Location: Birming-humm, England
Contact:

Post by Grimmie »

FatherJack wrote:- Drawing a weapon counts as a move action, unless you have at least a +1 base attack bonus when it can be combined with a move action. It's never a free action on its own.
You can unsheath a weapon for free with a base attack of 1 or more.
Count moving your arms around as the 'move' action. That's close enough to a free action.

Also, you can move during a full-round action, but only 5 feet.
Actions in combat are on page 138.

ANYWAY! Excuse me if I sound like a rules lawyer sometimes, in person I hope I'd just go "No, that's fine, you can do that."

You stab angry Mr. Goblin with your rapier, and he shrieks, dropping his mace before going curiously limp and dead.

---

The Orc on the other side of the room obviously doesn't like this, and tosses his head back with an almighty roar, running across the room to swing his stone hammer at Thor in retribution, laying in to the side of your body for 5 damage.

The goblin civilians start to tug logs from the camp fire and toss them into the wet mud of the neighbouring pig sty, the room getting darker with each one they remove and extinguish. You reckon they're about half way through by the time it gets to..

Orovan's turn!
FatherJack
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 9597
Joined: May 16th, 2005, 15:31
Location: Coventry, UK
Contact:

Post by FatherJack »

Oof, 1HP. Also I think I've laddered my tights.
shot2bits
Zombie
Zombie
Posts: 2082
Joined: February 7th, 2005, 17:40
Location: england

Post by shot2bits »

is it two gobbo fighters left with an orc up in our shit now with the civilians putting out the fire?
Baliame
Tremors Worm
Tremors Worm
Posts: 3491
Joined: October 13th, 2007, 23:43
Location: Hungary

Post by Baliame »

Civilians is a strong term, I'd much rather call it unarmed potential threats, making us concerned with existential issues.
Post Reply